Let’s Not Lose Lost Weekend Video

In case you haven’t seen it yourself, Telstar Logistics today takes an in-depth look at Lost Weekend’s “Internet Killed the Video Store” window display:

Lost Weekend soldiers on, for now, but when we spoke to the store’s proprietors, they were candid: Times are tough, they said. As an indication of that, in the window of their shop they posted the lyrics to a sing-along remake of a familiar song about an earlier generation technological change, specially modified to suit today’s circumstances:

Read on for more pictures, a transcription of the full lyrics, some facts about Netflix and its effects on video stores, and some personal musings from Team Telstar.

Previously:

The Death of Video Stores in the Mission

Neutral Unpretentious Places (Like Lost Weekend)


Explore posts in the same categories: Local Businesses

8 Comments on “Let’s Not Lose Lost Weekend Video”


  1. Hey, you know what’s really killing Lost Weekend? Community Thrift selling video tapes for next-to-nothing.

    Just kidding, but to make a point. Video rental stores are the current equivalent of buggy-whip stores. They may have a colorful past, but they have no future (unless they can somehow re-invent themselves, like that used magazine store on Polk Street). I have cable TV, plus a year’s backlog of movies to watch on my DVR, plus Netflix AND Netflix instant view, plus Usenet downloads on my hard drive, and I haven’t even bothered to deal with torrents or anything else. And if I get really desperate, there are the physical vids and DVDs that I have actually bought and only watched once.

    Oh, and I have a full-time job and several hobbies. Good night, Lost Weekend.

  2. melissa Says:

    When it comes to renting movies, I much prefer going to a video store and browsing, finding something that looks good, and taking it home to watch right away. Or sometimes I get an itch for something in particular and can go and get it right away.

    I don’t like Netflix because usually by the time something shows up, I’ve lost interest or am not in the mood to see whatever it is, and it sits around for a month before I give up and send it back.

    Also, I don’t have cable (not much point since I don’t really watch TV). There are still a bunch of us out here for whom rental’s the way to go.

    I’d much rather keep renting from Lost Weekend than anywhere else. Love those guys and wish the store a long life!!

  3. faye's video Says:

    Maybe they should try selling coffee too. Teaming up with Chicken John to help quash the competition might work as well. Oh, wait…

  4. AttF Says:

    besides being a killer video store, they also get some scene points for having an owner who played drums in Jawbreaker…just sayin’

  5. heh Says:

    I haven’t rented movies from Lost Weekend in almost 2 years. I went regularly while hooked on Rome & The Wire. I stopped going when uploaders began sharing decent quality rips of The Wire’s 5th season.

    I canceled my GreenCine & Netflix subscriptions over a year ago, around the time that external hard drives plummeted in price and several companies began selling media player boxes.

    My home setup consists of an Asus O!Play, 3 external hard drives with a combined 4.5TB in storage, connected to my TV and home network. I have over 1000 movies, about 20 tv shows, and 1200 documentaries. Enough entertainment to get me through a nuclear winter.

    If I want to watch something rare or difficult to download, I’ll go to Lost Weekend. They have an excellent Criterion Collection section.

  6. Eyad Says:

    This is a legit video store. I never rented anything there but I’m glad places like this existed for people before the internet really started crackin.


Leave a Reply

